The Indian Women's Team Earns Win Over Rival Pakistan During Dispute, Bewilderment - plus Bug Problem
Pakistan Voices Unhappiness When TV Umpire Debatably Changes Run-out Decision
World Cup Tournament, Colombo
Team India 247 runs (50 overs): Harleen Deol 46 (65 balls); Diana Baig 4-69
Pakistan 159 (43 overs): Amin's 81 runs (106 balls); Goud 3-20
Team India secured victory by 88-run margin
India maintained their 100% start during the championship with a comfortable 88-run win over rivals Pakistan at Colombo.
Harleen Deol top-scored with 46 and Richa Ghosh smashed 35 not out from 20 balls late on to lift India up to 247 runs throughout their knock which witnessed several hitters begin well but fail to kick on.
Bowler Diana Baig secured 4-69 as Pakistan bowled Team India for the first time in women's one-day international from the last ball of the innings however a maiden victory continued to evade them.
Following a slide to twenty-six for three in the run chase, Pakistan briefly rallied with Sidra Amin - who eventually compiled 81 from 105 balls following being given reprieves thrice - along with Natalia Pervaiz put on 69 for the fourth partnership.
But India, guided by Kranti Goud's 3/20, stuck to their task to dismiss Pakistan for 159 during the 43rd over and move top of the group table.
As commonly occurs when India and Pakistan meet, however, there existed much more to the contest, with controversy and confusion peppered throughout the encounter...
Run-out Controversy
Possibly the major conversation topic emerged from a occurrence in the beginning of Pakistan's knock when the opening player Muneeba Ali was debatably dismissed via run out.
The left-hander received impact on the pad by Goud and as the bowler from India appealed without success for lbw, Deepti gathered the stray ball and aimed at the wickets.
She connected but replays showed the batter had embedded the bat ahead of the ball was even in the picture and a 'not out' decision by the TV umpire Kerrin Klaaste appeared on the large screen in the venue.
Nevertheless, ahead of the match continuing, the decision was looked at again and it emerged that while the ball made contact with the stumps and removed the bails, the batter had elevated her equipment and was still stood out of her crease.
Although the player had earlier embedded her equipment and was not trying to sneak a single, the third umpire altered her ruling to 'out' and notwithstanding Pakistani objections, that witnessed skipper Fatima Sana direct her hitter to stay at the ground for a short time, Muneeba was compelled to depart.
In a further twist, had India simply reviewed the lbw decision, the whole controversy might have been averted since ball-tracking indicated Muneeba was plumb lbw.
What do the laws of the game say?
30.1 Concerning leaving the crease
Rule 30.1.1 A player shall be deemed as out of their ground unless some part of his/her person or bat is grounded behind the line at that side.
Rule 30.1.2 However, a batter shall not be considered as out of their ground when, during running or diving toward their ground and beyond, and having grounded a portion of the player or equipment past the batting crease, there follows loss of connection between the ground and any part of their body or bat, or between willow and batter.
'Tails... heads is the call'
Confusion as Pakistani side mistakenly granted toss against India
It should have been apparent that things would not be simple in this match starting with the coin flip.
Amid a context of diplomatic strains among the two nations, that leaders Sana and Kaur did not shake hands came as no surprise - notably because of the precedent set in previous encounters among the men's teams.
Nonetheless, no-one could have predicted that Sana would call wrongly yet win the toss.
The Pakistani captain announced "tails" as Harmanpreet flicked the coin but match referee the referee misheard and declared "heads called".
Presenter and former cricketer Mel Jones was conducting the toss and reiterated the official's announcement, the coin landed on heads and the announcement came that Pakistan had won the flip.
No skipper challenged it therefore the captain managed to come forward and affirm that Pakistan would bowl first.
An innocent mistake and given India won in any case, no damage caused.
Flying pests interrupt game
'Who will you contact?' - 'Pest controller' comes when insects halt game
Amidst {the toss confusion|the coin flip confusion|the toss